Aiako Harria Natural Park

Aiako Harria Natural Park

The Aiako Harria Natural Park is located on the foothills of the Pyrenees, in the eastern part of the province of Guipúzcoa. It covers 6,145ha. The massif is crisscrossed by streams and waterfalls and covered in forests of beech and oak.

There is a huge amount of well signalled trails. The PR GI-20 route, marked with yellow and white, skirts all around the massif.

The massif boasts three main summits: Irumugarrieta (806 m), Txurrumurru (821 m) and Erroilbide (837 m), which are also known as Tres Coronas (Three Crowns), Las Batallas (The Battles) or Cara de Napoleón (Face of Napoleon). Varied signposted routes lead the walker to these peaks. The most widely used route is over the Aritxulegi Saddle.

The Aitzondo stream has a 100 m waterfall.

The remains of a Roman mine in Arditurri still exists. The Aiako Harria Natural Park has quite a few disused mines dotted all over Aiako Harria. Ventilation shafts, mine entrances, railways, etc. form part of this important historical and industrial heritage.

There are also a large amount of dolmens, stone circles and burial mounds dating back to prehistoric times.

There are 147 species of vertebrates, the most important of which are forest species such as wild cat, roe deer and wild boar. There are Griffin and Egyptian Vulture colonies high up on the crags and cliffs and salmon that swim back upstream along the Urumea River every year to spawn.

Some of the Aiako Harria Natural Park is covered by conifer plantations, however there are also stretches of natural forest such. These include the forest of oak and beech of Añarbe, the forest of Pendulate and Pyrenean oak of Endara and the beech wood of Oianleku.